Home > Carnivorous Plants > My Carnivorous Plant Collection

My Carnivorous Plant Collection

Welcome to my new blog. As I am venturing into growing other species of plant, it is more appropriate to switch to a new blog where I can share my experience with other plants.

Here are some updates of my carnivorous plant collections.

Currently, I am still keeping some carnivorous plants like sundews, tropical pitcher plants and byblis. Most of them are mature plants and they are doing alright.

My tropical pitcher plant, Nepenthes Ampullaria ‘Harlequin’ is pitchering again!! After a long dreadful wait, the latest leaf on the main vine is pitchering. The other leaves either had their tendrils dried up, or snapped off mysteriously…

IMG_0474 DSC00376

                            Pitchering!!                                                         Mature pitchers

My newly acquired pitcher plant, Nepenthes ‘Gardentech’, a hybrid between N.Ampullaria ‘Cantley’s Red’ and N.Ventricosa ‘red’. It bears beautiful burgundy red pitchers! But mine is still a very young plant and therefore, we need to wait and see!

                                                IMG_0380

                                                             Very young N.Gardentech

My sundews are very healthy! Those Drosera Burmannii flower every now and then, I need to trim them off almost every 2 to 3 days to prevent them from exhaustion. Instead of growing bigger and wider, they are growing taller!! Their dried leaves stacked upon each other and as they layer, they grow taller!

IMG_0469 IMG_0471

                                                                    Drosera Burmannii

Byblis Liniflora, another species of carnivorous plants, have the same sticky dew on hairs to catch their prey. They are closely related to sundews, but their tendrils are passive, unlike sundews, Byblis’ tendrils do not wrap around its prey. 10 seedlings were given to me from Cindy, an expert in carnivorous plant, at a reasonable price. They grow fast and they look like small Christmas trees!! When they grow up, it is just in time for Christmas!

IMG_0435 IMG_0434

                                                                    Byblis Liniflora

Check out my blog soon. I will be touching on growing carnivorous plants for beginners and sharing some of my orchids and veggies!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

