My new Plants!!

Finally my exams are over! Today, I collected my Borneo Exotics Order from one of the gurus… I ordered a Nepenthes bicalcarata ‘Red Flush’ and Nepenthes veitchii ‘Golden Peristome’, and they look very nice to me! I have also gotten a Cephalotus Follicularis too! Although it look small, but the pitchers are big!

IMG_0777 IMG_0778

                          Just arrived!                                                 Cephalotus Follicularis

The plants were sent bare rooted and packed in plastic bags. I rushed home once I got hold of the plants and start to prepare the potting media. This time round, I used the same potting combination as what I posted here earlier on, 1:1 peat moss : perlite, sandwiched between a layer of  dried sphagnum moss to hold moisture and prevent the media from leaking out from the base of the pot.

IMG_0782 IMG_0790

             N. veitchii ‘Golden Peristome’                     N.bicalcarata ‘Red Flush’ 

I potted them up in 3-inch pots and sit them on clay pellets to maintain the humidity around the plants. They are slightly bigger than my N. ‘Gardentech’ as they are ‘M’-size plants. My Cephalotus is potted up in 2-inch pot and it is not advisable to repot it. They don’t like their roots to be disturbed.

IMG_0793 IMG_0791

                         Our new home!!                                           Can you see my teeth?

This is my second time attempting to grow these ‘fussy’ plants as they will just die on you when you don’t give them the correct growing conditions!…. It is a steep learning curve for growing one of the rarest carnivorous plants in the world!

  1. December 2, 2008 at 11:00 am

    I love looking at these plants but growing them is another thing. Somehow they seem to grow better in the jungle wild 🙂

  2. Richmond Tan
    December 2, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Hi Chawanmushi,

    Thanks for reading my articles. Plants definitely do well in the wild, simply because they are not in any stress!

    Plants grown in cultivation are always under certain amount of stress, not even the best gardener can give them that “perfect conditions”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

