My Garden with new plants!

IMG_0269I have recently added some more plants to my small garden and they are growing very well. Remember my Ying Yang beans? Actually the correct name is Butterscotch beans! They have been losing their leaves and tendrils were turning yellow. Looking at their present state, I added a generous amount of growth fertilizer to the soil and they started to grow with new energy! More leaves were formed and they started flowering again!

Same goes for my Capsicum plant. The fruit stopped growing and remain green in colour for quite sometime, only after adding the fertilizers, the fruit finally ripen and turning yellow! My recent additions were the Pinto bean plant and the dwarf pineapple plant. Pinto beans are also known as “pearl beans” to grocers and they are seasonal vegetables. Their pods were red and speckled with white and green. The beans itself is almost pure white, with streaks of pink, hence its name “pearl beans”.IMG_0266IMG_0265

                          Ripe Capsicum                                               Pinto Bean seedling 

I got my dwarf pineapple plant (Ananas nanus) from my aunt who had been very successful in growing this plant. The flower is smaller than the typical pineapple plant and their fruits are small and unsuitable for consumption. There were small pups growing from the mother plant and my aunt picked one of them for me to grow! I potted them up in a draining and open mix and placed it side by side with my veggies. Hopefully one day I can blog on their flowers and new growth.

IMG_0263                  IMG_0273

                Dwarf Pineapple Pup                                                    Rosemary

My Rosemary plant finally got a bigger home after growing in a 3-inch pot for so long. The roots were almost “ate up” the soil! Rosemary is easy to grow if you keep them dry and a good amount of light. Many had failed and the common reason is the moisture in the soil is just too much for them.

IMG_0277IMG_0278

                                                          More cherries coming up! 

My Barbados Cherry shrub, grew a lot of leaves over the past few weeks and I gave them a nice haircut! It was a pleasant surprise to see them flower again! This time, I got four fruits forming instead of just one during the previous flowering season. I guess hand pollination is still important as my area don’t really have natural pollinaters around.

  1. Shan
    April 2, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Dear Richmond,
    Recently, have started growing some herbs in a tiny plot of land in my school. In the process of labelling the names of plants. I have 2 kinds of mint which are growing well, but i’m really not sure of their exact names. one of it is the kind they added to mojito drink, abt 2cm long thin leaves, dark reddish stem. another wan is with hairy green stem, thick, bigger leaves. not sure if they are called spearmint or peppermint…can you help me?
    thanks!

    • Richmond Tan
      April 4, 2010 at 6:10 pm

      Hi! It would be best if you can provide photos of the plants. However, it will be difficult to ID them even with the photos… Basically those leaves used in mojito drinks are likely to be common Mint. To differentiate spearmint and peppermint is even harder, peppermint leaves do not have the “leaf stem” or petiole, a twig like structure between the leaf and the main stem. Spearmint do not have such petioles…

      • Shan
        April 5, 2010 at 11:08 am

        Dear Richmond,
        you mean peppermint leaves do not have the “leaf stem” or petiole, a twig like structure between the leaf and the main stem. Spearmint have such petioles?
        I would like to show you a picture of the mint plants, prob i email you after i have taken some photos from our humble plot of garden:)
        Thanks for your help…i have been trying to read up from the website but still dun understand the difference between spearmint and peppermint…so i guess the best thing to do is to drop by your site and seek the expert’s advice…hee:)

        cheers,
        Shan

      • Richmond Tan
        April 6, 2010 at 1:40 pm

        yes.. but sometimes it can be hard to tell. I had friends who kept lots of mint plants but the tags got mixed up and in the end impossible to tag them back correctly. Do send me some photos, if ythere are plans to expand the school garden do let me know too! 🙂

      • Shan
        April 6, 2010 at 11:37 pm

        hmmm… i see.
        ok, i better send you some photos…hmmm…is it possible to tag the photos in this blog? or possible to give me your email address, i send you. paisay, I’m really a IT idiot so dun know how to send you the photos.
        right now only have a small plot for some herbs and edible plants. already planted basil, 2 types of mint. they are doing well. today just added some pandan leaves. bought some laksa leave and lemon grass today, soaking stem in water, hopefully roots appear:)
        :)shan

      • Richmond Tan
        April 7, 2010 at 9:54 pm

        I had sent you email to your singnet account. Do check it out 🙂 Great to see that your herb collection is expanding!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

