Home > General Care, On the Streets > Office Gardening

Office Gardening

Wish everyone a Happy Lunar New Year!! It was a busy new year for me as there were so many relatives to visit! I have to go even when I knock off from my workplace!

I was serving my University industrial attachment in a research company where I met more “green fingers”! I was greeted with GIANT pots of African Violets on my first day of work! The office environment is very conducive for growing these beautiful plants, with big windows and great morning sun. The long hours of air-con brings the temperature down significantly.

                                     IMG_0911

                                                          Small office nursery

I felt so motivated that I brought my own collection of African Violets to the office and bought some new plants too! My colleagues were also very surprised to see an engineering student who is so obsessed with plants and they were very amazed with the wick-watering system I used for my African Violets.

IMG_0913 IMG_0912

                                                     Tasmanian Sphagnum Moss

Not long ago, I managed to get hold of  live Tasmanian Sphagnum moss, which is one of the most useful plant in gardening. The moss is a good indicator of nutrient fluctuations and humidity provider, therefore it serves as an early-warning system for the plants. Sphagnum moss cannot survive in mineral rich media and they absorb lots of water, making it the best candidate for growing carnivorous plants!

I am currently growing them in various conditions as part of my private research, to see how the moss will react and grow. It is believed that they do best in cool and humid conditions and growing in the office is the best place to carry out my experiments!

  1. April
    August 12, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Can you tell me what type of plant is in the lower left side of the picture on the left….the one that kind of looks like a rubber plant.

    Thank you

  2. Richmond Tan
    August 16, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Oh thats an African Viotlet (Saintpaulia ionantha), the perfect plant for office!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment