Home > Uncategorized > Unique flowers!

Unique flowers!

Recently I made a trip to the nursery to search for new plants in my community garden. I happen to stumble upon a plant with very unique flowers, my fellow gardeners promptly shortlisted it as one of the plants for the garden, which I was rather skeptical. Usually whenever I see new plants, I would do some research to find out more on their growing conditions and requirements before getting them.

However this time round, this plant is thought to be too unique and uncommon, so my gardeners convinced me to ‘take it and try’. We got two of these plants, Strophantus preussii, and now growing happily in my garden. They are putting out new flowers now!

Strophantus 

Why is it so unique? Look at the flowers and you don’t need any more explanation. The flowers have these thread-like petals which extends over 15 centimetres!  It is believed that this particular species can reach more than 30 centimetres! Just like most tropical plants, the leaves are glossy and elliptic in shape and they enjoy full sun to partial shade. I can’t wait for my plants to grow tall enough to put out more blossoms! 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

