Home > General Care, Herbs, Veggies and Fruits, Tips and Tricks in your Garden > My Gardening talk – From Garden to Kitchen

My Gardening talk – From Garden to Kitchen

This is the first time I conducted my gardening talk in the community centre, title ‘From Garden to Kitchen’. Attended by ten gardening enthusiasts, I had shared growing tips and secrets to gardening success for culinary herbs such as rosemary, laksa plant, ginger and more. The two-hour talk also consists of a hands-on session, where I demonstrated on how to divide a mint plant.

IMG_2197

The number of attendees is smaller than my previous talks but the session enabled us to discuss and share various growing experience. I had time to attend to their questions and share more knowledge with them. I was rather surprised with the questions they asked, that most of the questions are very technical and rarely asked by hobbyists, it seemed that the gardening knowledge of community gardeners had increased since the beginning of my promoting gardening campaign!

IMG_2176

Also, everyone got to bring back a pot of the mint they had divided and purple basil seeds for them to try out. The attendees were rather quiet at the earlier part of the talk but gradually the ice was broken and everyone made new friends when they walked out at the end of the talk. Not only that these talks help to gain more knowledge, but also provided opportunities for like-minded enthusiasts to network and discuss with one another.

I would like to thank for the wonderful support rendered by the Tampines West Community Centre staff and my friend Ai San for taking photographs that day. Special thanks to National Parks Board Community in Bloom team (Ms Lily Chen) for providing the necessary teaching materials to make this talk possible. I hope to get more opportunities to reach out to more gardening enthusiasts in the near future!   

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

